List of Current Cabinet Secretaries in Kenya (Updated 2020)

President Uhuru Kenyatta who won the 2017 General Elections in Kenya appointed has his cabinet secretaries. The CS’s will help him run the National Government for a period of 5 years from 2018 to 2022 when he will be completing his term in office.

Who is a Cabinet Secretary?

A Cabinet Secretary (CS) is a member of the Kenyan Cabinet and head of the Kenyan Ministries. The Cabinet Secretary position was introduced in the country after the promulgation of the 2010 constitution.

However, the Cabinet Secretary is not a Member of the Kenyan Parliament. The CS has to be vetted by a parliamentary committee before their appointment.

The president reshuffled the cabinet on January 15th… here is the current list of the Kenyan Cabinet Secretaries.

Full List of Cabinet Secretaries in Kenya

The following are the Cabinet Secretaries that will server under President Uhuru Kenyatta:

Cabinet SecretaryGovernment Ministry
1Prof. George A.O. MagohaMinistry of Education
2Dr. Fred Matiang’iMinistry of Interior and Coordination of National Government
3Eugine WamalwaMinistry of Devolution
4Monica Juma (Replaced Rachel Omamo)Ministry of Defense
5Rachael Omamo (Replaced Monica Juma)Ministry of Foreign Affairs
6Margaret KobiaMinistry of Youth and Gender
7John MunyesMinistry of Petroleum and Mining
8Keriako TobikoMinistry of Environment and Forestry
9Joe MucheruMinistry of Information and Communication
10Mutahi Kagwe (Replaced Sicily Kariuki)Ministry of Health
12Peter MunyaMinistry of Northern Community Development
13James MachariaMinistry of Transport, Infrastructure, Housing, Urban Development & Public Works
14Najib BalalaMinistry of Tourism
15Sicily Kariuki (Replaced Simon Chelgui)Ministry of Water and Sanitization
16Farida KaroneyMinistry of Lands & Physical Planning
17Adan MuhamedMinistry of East African Community & Regional Development
18Peter Munya (Replaced Mwangi Kiunjuri)Ministry of Agriculture
19Amina MohamedMinistry of Sports, Culture & Heritage
20Simon Chelgui (Replaced Ukur Yattani)Ministry of Labor & Social Services
21Ukur Yattani (Replaced Henry Rotich)Treasury and Planning
22Charles KeterMinistry of Energy
23Betty MainaTrade and Industrialisation
Amanullah is not your average writer, he understands concepts and turns ideas into words. He is a fan of characters and likes to play with letters in the alphabet.

Related Articles

How to Check NHIF Balance via SMS (4 Steps)

Today I  will show you how to check NHIF status in 2020. Have you been contributing to NHIF and would like to know the...

List of Updated NHIF Rates 2020

See the fully updated list of NHIF rates for 2020 in the post below. As you all know, NHIF Kenya is a State-owned Parastatal...

Census 2019: How to apply for census Jobs

If you are looking for a job in the upcoming 2019 Census? Well, read on as we list the available 2019 Census Jobs. The Kenya...

Public Service Commission Kenya Salary Scale 2020

The following is a Public service commission Kenya salary scale for 2020. The government has employed stringent regulations on salaries for all public service...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.